Written Vs. Spoken Portuguese


Colloquial Portuguese: Putting “Não” At The End of Sentences

One of the most important things to bear in mind when learning Portuguese is that there is a big difference between written Portguese, which is more formal and sticks to the grammar books, and oral Portuguese, which is a whole different story.

One place where this becomes apparent is the use of the word “não” in creating a negative sentence. Gramatically speaking, it is incorrect to place “não” at the end of the sentence; logistically, it is constantly placed at the end of the sentence in spoken Portuguese. Though technically, this structure is grammatically incorrect, it is frequently used this way in the oral form, usually in a response to a question.

Let’s take a look.

How it’s writtenNão quero ir na festa. I don’t want to go to the party.

How it’s spokenQuero ir na festa não. I don’t want to go to the party.

To be safe, stick to the grammar rules when writing, be it a term paper or a business email, but when spoken, it’s ok to speak like the Brazilians do.

Let’s look at a few more examples we’re likely to hear in spoken Portuguese.

Sei não, cara. I don’t know, man.

Podemos ir não. We can’t go.

Gosta não. She doesn’t like it.

 triste não. He’s not sad.

About portugueseblog
i like to write about law, finance, technology, portuguese and everything to do with brazilian culture, get in touch with me if you share these interests/

3 Responses to Written Vs. Spoken Portuguese

  1. Anonymous says:

    At Sao Paulo we do not speak like this.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Generalizing a bit, if the trait really exists somewhere.
    That I know of, there’s not a single place either in Portugal or Africa that sticks the não at the end of phrases. So, for me, at least, it just sounds completely off target..
    The não is put right behind the verbal block.
    Though I think I how how you may have misinterpreted those sentences you used as examples of “spoken portuguese”.

  3. Khalia says:

    Continue updating the site!!! I am studying Brazilian Portuguese and I want all the pointers I can get!! Obrigada, senhora!!!

Leave a comment